- Sale Type: For Sale by Private Treaty
- Overall Floor Area: 47 m²
*************************Final offers by Friday 5th August ************************************
We are delighted to offer for sale this original stone cottage part of the Northern Counties Railway. This rail line connected Enniskillen to Sligo and was a standard gauge line. Glenfarne Station opened with the first train arriving from Enniskillen on new years day 1880. The line ran continuously until September 1957. At this time the Great northern Railway was owned by the British Government who made a decision to close it.
This left the Sligo Leitrim Line with no outlet at Enniskillen and forced its closure. The Sligo Leitrim and Northern Counties Railway was unique in many ways. It was still privately owned at the time of closure. With partition in 1922, it meant that it straddled two jurisdictions which necessitated customs check points at both Glenfarne and Belcoo. Many of the original signalling and rolling stock remained from the original in the 1880. During the 1950s many rail enthusiasts from the UK travelled and documented the SL&NCR at it was one of the most interesting and quirky rail lines in Europe. The Sligo Leitrim rail way would probably never have been built without the intervention of local resident land lord, Arthur Loftus Tottenham. He acted as contractor for the building of the railway and this was to lead to his own financial ruin. He borrowed money for the task from Sir Edward Harland of the famous Belfast shipyard. However in the early years the railway failed to make sufficient profits to pay back Tottenham in cash and he was paid instead with railway shares which proved to be worthless. The result was that he lost his extensive estate of over 14,000 acres and his mansion and private estate in Glenfarne of around 1,000 acres. Glenfarne Station was to be the local station for Tottenham who invested more in the stone work and ornate features compared to Belcoo or Manorhamilton. There was a small room off the main waiting room , known as Ladies waiting Room. This was a feature to allow the ladies connected with the Tottenhams to sit separately from the commoners. Sir Edward Harland can into possession of the Former Tottenham estate and was a frequent passenger at Glenfarne Station. He used the nearby Glenfarne Hall as a hunting retreat and invited many celebrities of the day to Glenfarne and they all arrived at Glenfarne Station. In 1895 on one such trip, Sir Edward died in Glenfarne and the removal of the remains at Glenfarne station made the national news at the time. Glenfarne Station of which the station cottage was part of, was also the local station for PA Mc Hugh who was a land league activist and became an MP for Leitrim in 1890. He later became Lord Mayor of Sligo. Sean Mac Diarmaida , signatory of the 1916 proclamation was also a frequent passenger at Glenfarne Station. Upon his release from prison in September 1915 he was met at Glenfarne Station by three bands and escorted in triumph to his home in Cornmore. In October of 1915 he left Glenfarne Station for Dublin and this was to be his last time in Leitrim as he was executed for his part in the Easter Rising in May 1916. The Glenfarne of today and the station house cottage, boast all of the modern resources of Irish living, access to shops , long country walks in the lakeside forest near Lough MacNean, sitting on the N16 a short drive to Enniskillen and Sligo town on the other side.
The gate house Boasts the most fantastic stone work externally given the cottage its distinctive character.
The gate house would benefit from some renovation and modernisation and is serviced by Water and electricity.
The gatehouse at Annagh, Glenfarne is on crossing number 12 of the old Sligo Leitrim and Northern Counties Railway. The gate houses were numbered in succession from Enniskillen to Sligo. The railway opened in 1880 and closed in 1957. The main contractor for the building of the railway was Arthur Loftus Tottenham who was also the local landlord based in Glenfarne. Tottenham was never fully paid for his work by the railway company resulting in him becoming bankrupt by 1885. The railway continued and was a major influence on the economic and social history of North Leitrim.
It remained an independently owned railway right up until 1957 when it was forced to close because of a British government decision to close the Great Northern line at Enniskillen. This left the Sligo Leitrim line with no access to the North and it could therefore not continue.
Originally those that lived in the gate house were employed by the railway company to open and close the gates to stop traffic on the Annagh road while the train passed through. The Annagh road was not particularly busy, but its traffic swelled during the turf cutting season as it was the main road to the Annagh bog.
When the assets of the railway were being sold off by the receivers in the early 1960's the gatehouses were offered for sale and in most cases the tenants who lived in them bought them.
Viewings on Wednesday 13th July between 3.00 pm and 6.00 pm
Glenfarne Neighbourhood Guide
Get to know more about this area with our neighbourhood guides, explore property prices lifestyle & more...